DNC Chair Jaime Harrison, DNC Secretary Jason Rae, and LGBTQ Caucus Chair Earl Fowlkes issued the following joint statement marking the seventh anniversary of the Supreme Court’s decisions in Obergefell v. Hodges, the ninth anniversary of U.S. v. Windsor, and the 19th anniversary of Lawrence v. Texas:

Seven years ago, decades of fearless activism culminated in the Supreme Court’s landmark decision making marriage equality the law of the land. Today is also the anniversary of landmark victories in U.S. v. Windsor and Lawrence v. Texas — both cases that expanded rights for LGBTQ Americans.

Today, we honor those that have brought us this far and commit to carrying the fight for LGBTQ equality forward. We will not accept Republican efforts to turn back the clock. In light of the Supreme Court’s decision to overturn Roe v. Wade and call fundamental freedoms like marriage equality into question, let us be clear — we will not go back.

The Democratic Party will continue fighting to expand protections for the LGBTQ community and working to ensure equality is — and remains — the law of the land.

The post DNC on the Anniversary of Obergefell v. Hodges appeared first on Democrats.